Rickaro Books logo

 
New Titles

Special offer: 20% discount on all these titles from our Christmas catalogue.

Many more titles in our extensive stock and we can order any book that you may require.

Rick Stein   Famous Five   Timekeepers

Rick Stein's Long Weekends
Rick Stein

Cadiz, Palermo, Copenhagen and more . . . Rick Stein goes in search of good food in fabulous locations, and all of them just a hop, skip and a jump from the UK.

£25
9781785940927 HB

 

Enid Blyton for Grown-Ups
Bruno Vincent

In this hilarious series of Enid Blyton for Grown-Ups, George, Dick, Anne, Julian and Timmy confront new challenges. Lashings of jolly good fun for Christmas!

Each title £7.99

 

Timekeepers
How the World Became Obsessed with Time
Simon Garfield

Timekeepers is a vivid exploration of the ways we have perceived, contained and saved time over the last 250 years, narrated in the highly inventive and enterainting style that bestselling author Simon Garfield is fast making his own.

£16.99
9781782113195 HB

Roy of the Rovers   Badger   Clare Balding

Real Roy of the Rovers Stuff
Barry Tomlinson

The inside story told by the man who knows Roy Race better than anyone. Editor Barry Tomlinson helped turn him into a national institution and his book tells the stsory of Roy's career as player and manager adn how he became one of football's most iconic names.

£14.99
9781785312120 HB

 

That's not my badger
Fiona Watt

A touchy-feely board book with simple repetitive text and bold illustrations. Babies and toddlers will love meeting the friendly badgers adn using their sense of touch to work out which badger is t+heirs.

£6.99
9781474921633 Cased board book


 

The Racehorse Who Wouldn't Gallop
Clare Balding

Charlie Bass is a horse-mad ten-year-old who dreams of owning her own pony. So when she accidently manages to buy a racehorse Charlie is thrilled.

A classic funny animal story, perfect for fans of Dick King-Smieth and Gerald Durrell.

£10.99
978-0141362908 HB

Le Carre   Clarke   Hislop

The Pigeon Tunnel
John le Carré

The extraordinary memoir from one of the world's greatest living novelists. In this astonishing work we see our world, both public and private, through the eyes of one of the world's greatest writers.


£20
97802411257555 HB

 

Kind of Blue, A Political Memoir
Ken Clarke

The biggest political memoir of the year from one of the biggest personalities in British politics.


£25
9781509837199 HB

 

Cartes Postales from Greece
Victoria Hislop

Here is a tale that will enchant Victoria Hisplop's fans, it is inspired by the beauty of her beloved Greece and features a ground-breaking design that makes it a book to treasure . . . and give to those you love.


£19.99
09781472223203 HB

Rankin   P D James   Tiny Churches

Rather be the Devil
Ian Rankin

John Rebus, now into his retirement, finds himself drawn into a cold case from the 1970s involving a female socialite, found dead in a bedroom in one of Edinburgh's most luxurious hotels.


£19.99
9781409159407 HB

 

The Mistletoe Murder and Other Stories
P. D. James

A collection of four masterfully atmospheric stort stories from the acknowledged "Queen of Crime" P D James. These stories, two of which feature Adam Dalgliesh, are ideal reading for the dark days of winter.


£10
9780571331345 HB


 

Tiny Churches, 60 Heavenly Buildings in Britain
Dixe Wills

A handpicked selection of Britain's 60 most interesting diminutive churches written in an amusing, accessible style to appeal to modern readers.


£16.99
9780749577681 HB

children's books

Rickaro books stock a great range of the latest and most popular children's book. We supply schools and can provide a competitive and comprehensive service. Why not call in the shop and see our extensive range.

We are always on the look-out for good books at RICKARO


The Matthew Hervey novels of Allan Mallinson.
At Rickaro Books we have a interest in military writing, this includes non-fiction accounts and manuals, but we also have a liking for good accurate fiction such as the writings of Patrick O'Brien and Allan Mallinson. In particular we like to have in stock titles of the acclaimed series of Mallinson works featuring Matthew Hervey of the Light Dragoons. There are now eight in the series: A CLOSE RUN THING, THE NIZAM'S DAUGHTER, A REGIMENTAL AFFAIR, A CALL TO ARMS, THE SABRE'S EDGE, RUMOURS OF WAR, AN ACT OF COURAGE and the latest COMPANY OF SPEARS. These are becoming harder to find in good hardcover first editions but we have the paperbacks if you just want a good read.

Rickaro Recommends

The Map of Time
Felix J. Palma
A fast paced story of love, murder and charlatanry.

Night Road
Kristin Hannah
A summer of love, best friends and promises. Broken hearts loyalties and dashed hopes. A time to leave childhood behind and face the future.

South Riding
Winifred Holtby
Capturing the life of a whole community with the passions, frustrations and tragedies of individuals.

Moonlight Mile
Dennis Lehane
A page turning thriller that leads you into a world of shocking secrets that threatens lives.

And Now The Shipping Forecast
Peter Jefferson
An affectionate memoir and a history of the science and BBC programming behind the forecast.

Book cover image

Rickaro Books
17 High Street, Horbury, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, England WF4 5AB
tel: 01924 278811 e-mail: rickarobooks@gmail.com